K-Project ZPT+

Non-destructive Testing and Tomography Plus (ZPT+)

With a research budget of 5.4 Million Euros 19 partners work on the further development of the central non-destructive testing methods - industrial computed tomography (CT) and laser ultrasound (LUS) - for the inspection and characterisation of compounds and hybrid-components over the period of 4 years.

Motivation

The industry is driven by the need to improve quality, reliability and durability of industrial products, to reduce costs and to introduce new more complex products, materials and technologies. These market demands can only be met by applying non-destructive testing methods increasing the competitiveness of the industrial partners.

The Project

The new K-Project for non-destructive testing and tomography plus (ZPT+) is a further development of the preceding very successful K-Project ZPT building on the established knowledge base. ZPT+ is the next logical step forward focusing on the cutting edge applications, new industrial demands and scientific expertise. Accordingly, the project research focuses primarily on the NDT-methods X-ray computed tomography (XCT) and laser ultrasound (LUS) methods for compounds and hybrid components. Other NDT-methods will be applied as well for specific studies. As core areas the following research fields were defined for this project:
  • the accurate extraction of quantitative material data from the NDT measurements,
  • in-situ NDT-methods,
  • multi-modal approaches and
  • the combination of NDT with materials simulation.
 
 
 
The K-Project ZPT+ is a research cooperation within the Competence Centers for Excellent Technologies Program (COMET) of the Austrian government, supported by the Austrian Funding Agency FFG, the government of Upper Austria and Styria.

K-Projekt ZPT+

Zerstörungsfreie Prüfung und Tomografie Plus (ZPT+)

Über eine Laufzeit von 4 Jahren arbeiten 19 Partner an der Weiterentwicklung der zentralen zerstörungsfreien Prüfverfahren (ZfP) - industrielle Computertomographie (CT) und Laser Ultraschall (LUS) - für die Inspektion und Charakterisierung von Verbundstoffen und Hybridbauteilen mit einem verfügbaren Forschungsvolumen von 5,4 Millionen Euro.

Motivation

Kontinuierliche Verbesserung der Qualität, Zuverlässigkeit und Langlebigkeit von industriellen Produkten, die Reduktion von Kosten und die Einführung von neuen komplexeren Produkten, Materialien und Technologien sind zentrale Bedürfnisse der Industrie. Diese Marktanforderungen können nur mit Hilfe von zerstörungsfreien Prüfmethoden bewältigt werden und einen entscheidenden Wettbewerbsvorteil für die beteiligten Industriepartner schaffen.

Das Projekt

Das neue K-Projekt für zerstörungsfreie Prüfung und Tomografie Plus (ZPT+) ist eine Weiterentwicklung des zuvor sehr erfolgreich abgeschlossenen K-Projekts ZPT, welche auf die bereits etablierte Wissensbasis aufbaut. Durch die Konzentration auf die modernsten Anwendungen, neu identifizierte Industrieanforderungen und der wissenschaftlichen Expertise ist ZPT+ der nächste große Schritt vorwärts. Demnach liegt das Hauptaugenmerk der Forschung auf den ZfP-Methoden Röntgen-Computertomographie (XCT) und Laser-Ultraschall (LUS) für Verbundstoffe und Hybridbauteile. Andere ZfP-Methoden werden jedoch für spezifische Studien herangezogen. Als Kernbereiche wurden die folgenden Forschungsfelder für dieses Projekt definiert:
  • Die genaue Extraktion von quantitativen Materialdaten aus den ZfP-Messungen,
  • in-situ ZfP-Methoden,
  • multi-modale Ansätze und
  • die Kombination von quantitativer zerstörungsfreier Prüfung (ZfP) mit Simulation.
 
 
 
Das K-Projekt ZPT+ ist eine Forschungskooperation im Sinne des Kompetenzzentren-Programms COMET (Competence Centers for Excellent Technologies) der Österreichischen Bundesregierun unterstützt von der Österreichischen Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft (FFG), dem Land Oberösterreich und dem Land Steiermark.